‘Iron Mine Cruisers’ take flight

Anthony, Don and Brad
Anthony, Don and Brad

The Crookwell Car Club Inc, known as the ‘Iron Mine Cruisers’, was formed in May.  A group of car enthusiasts had been meeting on an informal basis and knew that a couple of people were keen to start an official club which would provide conditional registration for vehicles 30 years and older and bring together other car owners for organised runs and social outings.  The two groups got together and the car club was officially formed.

The club is now incorporated, has the required insurance cover and has been granted approval from the RMS to issue Historic Vehicle Registration (unmodified vehicles) to members of the Crookwell Car Club.  

The Club has applied to join the Council of Heritage Motor Clubs of NSW (which meets in October) in order to be given permission to issue Conditional Registration for Classic Vehicles (modified in some way).

One of the reasons for forming the Club was to raise funds, part of which would be donated to local charities and community projects in the future.

The Club’s objectives include bringing together people who have an interest in all things automotive; maintaining fellowship between owners and other interested persons in the use and maintenance of motor vehicles; foster involvement of families in the club; organise and hold meetings, outings or functions for the advancement of the club and fellowship of members, and provide access to the NSW Conditional Registration Scheme.

Committee members are: Anthony O’Brien (president), Matthew Gay (vice-president),  Leigh Layden (treasurer), Dianne Layden (secretary), Barry Croker, Phil Davis, David Evans, Bradley Jamieson, Derek Layden, Nathan Slattery, Don Spackman and Phillip Stephenson.


Discuss "‘Iron Mine Cruisers’ take flight"

Please note: All comments made or shown here are bound by the Online Discussion Terms & Conditions.