Crookwell District Hospital awarded for loyalty of service | Gallery

The unwavering loyalty of Crookwell District Hospital (CDH) staff was on display last Friday morning as more than 20 long-serving staff were commended for their tireless years of service to the community. 

Senior nurse manager Mona Timo and Southern NSW Local Health District (SNSWLHD) chief executive Andrew Newton led the award ceremony, which congratulated service ranging up to 45 years.

Attendees were inundated with stories of selflessness, from the volunteering work of Jennifer Croker and Ian McFaul, to long-time staff members Natalie Hewitt and Serina Lynch, who had notched up 35 years each. 

In addition to the long service awards, nurse Colleen Picker and Dr Ramaswamy Thangavelu were awarded the NSW Premiers Award. 

Ms Picker, who began at the CDH in 1977, was described as a loyal and caring member of staff who was a wonderful role model to her colleagues.

OAM and Upper Lachlan Citizen of the Year Dr Thangavelu set up his practice in 1974 and has been admired for his surgical contributions to Crookwell and Goulburn Base Hospital over the years. 

“Investment is the word. People that live here, that is important for local people. Care continues after the four walls and into the community,” Mr Newton said.

“They have made a life long commitment to provide a quality service to the town and the people of Crookwell are certainly proud.” 

Mr Newton said the CDH would continue to work in the network of Goulburn, Yass and Braidwood hospitals, and would have a “key role and function”.

He also dispelled rumours Crookwell would be negatively impacted as Goulburn Base Hospital began its redevelopment.

“In-patient services and the Wellness Centre will all continue. We’ll go from strength to strength,” he said.