Mayoral Minute | Upper Lachlan Shire Council:

The Happiness Project, recently conducted by Bond University, showed the Upper Lachlan is among the safest and kindest places in the country.

John Stafford, mayor

John Stafford, mayor

We scored high in the safety category with 9.7 out of 10, based on the latest available crime statistics. The shire also ranked as the 10th kindest Local Government Area in Australia, due to our high proportion of adult volunteers (29.7 percent).

Of course, we didn’t need a study to know our community is the wonderful place that it is, largely due to our dedicated and passionate volunteers.

Every year in recognition of our volunteers and community groups, the council holds the Local Australia Day Awards. I’m very pleased to announce the 2019 nominees are as follows:

• Australia Day Citizen of the Year: Graham Lambert (Taralga); Gary Poile (Collector); Nerida Croker (Fullerton); Maree Roche (Gunning); Trevene Mattox (Crookwell); Sandra Bill (Crookwell); Andrew Shepherd (Crookwell); Judith Chalker (Taralga); Nolene Cosgrove (Taralga); Rosalind Medway (Oolong); and Sally McLean (Breadalbane)

• Young Citizen of the Year: Alexandra Branson (Crookwell); Anthony Watt (Crookwell); and William Luck (Gunning)

• Event of the Year: Collector Village Pumpkin Festival; Crookwell Rugby Club’s Premiership Teams Reunion and Motor Neurone Disease Round; Crookwell Potato Festival; 30th Anniversary of the Gunning Roos first Grand Final Victory; Laggan Village Monthly Markets at Laggan Memorial Hall; and Breadalbane Memorial Wall Opening and inaugural Anzac Day Commemoration

The winners will be announced on Australia Day. Good luck to all the nominees!

For more information about the Happiness Project, please visit: