Early voting opens for the federal election on Monday

Early voting opens for the federal election on Monday, April 29.
Early voting opens for the federal election on Monday, April 29.

People unable to attend a polling place on election day can cast their vote at an early voting centre, or by postal vote.

Early voting opens in Goulburn on April 29 for people in the Hume electorate.

People can vote at shop 2/104 Clinton St.

The early voting centre will be open on:

  • Monday, April 29 to Friday, May 3 from 8.30am until 5.30pm
  • Monday, May 6 to Thursday, May 9 from 8.30am until 5.30pm
  • Friday, May 10 from 8.30am until 6pm
  • Saturday, May 11 from 9am until 6pm
  • Monday, May 13 and Tuesday, May 14 from 8.30am until 5.30pm.
  • Wednesday, May 15 from 8.30am until 6pm
  • Thursday, May 16 from 8.30am until 5.30pm
  • Friday, May 17 from 8.30am until 6pm.

Postal voting will also open on April 29.

You are eligible to postal vote if you:

  • are outside of the electorate where you are enrolled to vote
  • are more than eight kilometres from a polling place
  • are travelling
  • can't leave your workplace to vote
  • are seriously ill, infirm or due to give birth shortly (or you are caring for someone who is)
  • are a patient in hospital and can't vote at the hospital
  • have religious beliefs that prevent you from attending a polling place
  • are in prison serving a sentence of less than three years or otherwise detained
  • are a silent elector
  • have a reasonable fear for your safety

People can complete the postal vote application on the Australian Electoral Commission (AEC) website: Apply for a postal vote.

The AEC cannot send a postal vote pack until the ballot papers have been printed.

Postal vote ballot papers must be completed and witnessed on or before election day and posted back to the AEC as soon as possible.

The AEC also provides mobile polling to some locations, including hospitals.

Voters who are blind or have low vision can cast a vote by telephone from any location by calling 1800 913 993.

Telephone voting registration opened on Friday, April 26 and people will be available to register until Friday, May 17 on weekdays between 8.30am until 5.30pm.

On election day registration will be open from 8am until 12pm.

Telephone voting will open on Monday, April 29 until Friday, May 17 on weekdays between 8.30am and 5.30pm. On election day, telephone voting is available from 8am until 6pm.

Further information can be found here: Telephone voting for the 2019 federal election.

The Australian Electoral Commission said with a record enrolment rate of 96.8 per cent it is important that all Australians enrolled now think about how and when they will cast their vote.

"We have the most complete electoral roll since Federation and we're providing a broad range of voting services, but it is up to enrolled Australians to turnout to make sure they have their say," the Electoral Commissioner, Mr Tom Rogers, said.

"We moved swiftly... to design, verify and then print ballot papers in time for voters to access early-voting centres from Monday."

On election day, Saturday May 18 polling places will open at 8am and close at 6pm sharp.

Places to vote in the Upper Lachlan Shire:

  • Crookwell Public School
  • Bigga Memorial Hall
  • Binda Public School
  • Collector Memorial Hall
  • Dalton Public School
  • Grabben Gullen Public Hall
  • Gunning Public School
  • Laggan Public School
  • Taralga Memorial Hall

The candidates for Hume in ballot paper order:

  • Aoife Champion: Labor Party
  • Lynda Abdo: United Australia Party
  • Tanya Hargraves: Fraser Anning's Conservative National Party
  • Angus Taylor: Liberal Party
  • David Powell: The Greens
  • Huw Kingston: Independent
  • Ian Nebauer: Christian Democratic Party (Fred Nile Group)